top of page
  • The History DSC

Alumni Adventures: Teresa Howe


Hello! Happy New Year and welcome back! We hope that you enjoyed the break and that this term is shaping up to be a fantastic one.

With the new year and the new term underway we wanted to share a new series with you, Alumni Adventures. Just before the break the DSC got in touch with History alumni, Teresa Howe: we asked Teresa to share with us her favourite things about Queen's, her history degree and advice she thought would be helpful for future History grads.

---

Graduation Year?

1987

What was your favourite history course or area of study?

Medieval History

Favourite thing about Queen's?

I was a "mature student" (at age 22!) and that did make a difference. I was really there to learn. At first, I didn't even think I could get a degree in the two years we would be at Queen's. But the university was flexible, awarded me some transfer credits, and we made a go of it! I loved the stacks at Mills Library.

Why did you choose to study history?

Frankly, the History Department was more likely than the English Department to allow transfer credits from another university. By the time I figured out that I could actually get a degree, that was the deciding factor!

What are you doing now?

I'm the Community Engagement Manager with a Christian charity called Indwell - we support about 450 people living in poverty because of a disability (often mental illness) by providing truly affordable (and quality) housing in Hamilton, Woodstock and Simcoe, Ontario. Included in my role is fundraising, volunteer management, and promotions.

How has your undergraduate degree in history helped you in your career?

My degree helped to secure my first social services role, working in a group home for those leaving psychiatric hospital - I loved it! As I took on subsequent roles, whether volunteer or paid, overseas and or back in Canada, there were often leadership elements. Research, critical thinking, writing and public speaking were all part of my education at Queen's, and I'm using each of those skills almost daily.

Do you have any advice for future history grads at Queen's?

Don't be too worried about your career moves. My career has taken many twists and turns - just expect that. But don't stay in a position you dislike terribly, or that jeopardizes your mental health. With your history degree you can learn on the job for almost anything, an invaluable skill. (In our small company, three out of the twelve people in our main office have history degrees - one is our Human Resources Manager, the other Director of Projects and Development (leading all of building projects - currently over $30 million in projects), plus me. And each of us is thankful for our history degree!)

We hope you enjoyed this segment of Alumni Adventures and as always, if you have an idea or know of someone you would like see a profile/post about, contact us on our dsc page or send us a message!

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page